Catherine Zeta-Jones CBE to host the Walpole British Luxury Awards & 2017 nominations unveiled

Bentley, Farfetch, Kingsman + MR PORTER, Mulberry, Wedgwood and the V&A join an illustrious cast of British luxury names nominated for the 2017 Walpole British Luxury Awards, which this year are hosted by Catherine Zeta-Jones, CBE, at The Dorchester on Monday 20th November 2017.

The British-born Oscar, Tony and BAFTA Award-winning actress, who has just returned from Cannes where she was promoting her latest film venture Cocaine Godmother, will present awards across 13 categories from a shortlist of brands also announced today and which include Bentley, Farfetch, Kingsman & Mr Porter, Mulberry, and the V&A.

Catherine Zeta-Jones, CBE, commented: “Nobody does luxury better than the Brits; from fashion, interiors, cars and hotels, British luxury is desired the world over. It’s an honour to be asked to present the Walpole British Luxury Awards and to celebrate the most creative and talented individuals from around the British Isles, in one of the most exciting cities in the world.”

Helen Brocklebank, CEO, Walpole, added: “Catherine Zeta-Jones embodies all that British luxury intrinsically grasps: creativity, grace, style and discernment – she is one of our country’s greatest exports and we are delighted to welcome her as our Awards host. As the jewel in the crown of British business, the luxury sector – currently worth over £32.2 billion to the UK economy – deserves to be celebrated and the Walpole British Luxury Awards reward the best of the best. Congratulations to all of this year’s nominees.”

In Walpole’s 25th anniversary year, and 16th year of the Walpole British Luxury Awards, over 300 top luxury industry creatives, executives and influencers will gather to applaud those brands and individuals that have excelled over the past 12 months through trailblazing quality, craftsmanship, design, innovation or experience. Past winners have included Victoria Beckham, Rolls-Royce Motor Cars, Burberry, Goodwood, Emilia Wickstead, and Vanessa Kingori MBE.

The winners of the 2017 Walpole British Luxury Awards will be chosen by an esteemed panel of judges, all of whom are leaders and decision-makers from the worlds of luxury and business. The 2017 panel of judges is led by Michael Ward, Chairman of Walpole and Managing Director of Harrods, and includes Helen Brocklebank, Walpole CEO; Gillian de Bono, Editor of FT How to Spend It; Hannah Rothschild, writer, filmmaker and chair of the London National Gallery’s Board of Trustees; Marcus Wareing, Restaurateur; Stefan Sielaff, Design Director at Bentley; Tim Delaney, Chairman, Leagas Delaney and Henrietta Jowitt, Deputy Director General, CBI.

The 2017 Shortlist:

British Luxury Brand of the Year, in association with Laurent-Perrier
David Collins Studio, Farfetch, Harrods, Jaguar Land Rover, MATCHESFASHION.COM

Cultural Experience, in association with London Advertising
Chatsworth House, The Crown, Historic Royal Palaces, The Serpentine Galleries, the V&A

Luxury Maker of the Year, in association with David Collins Studio
Bentley, Globe-Trotter, Hamilton & Inches, Linley, Wedgwood

Luxury with a Heart, in association with G.F. Smith
Cadogan, Chewton Glen, Glenmorangie, Jo Malone London, YOOX NET-A-PORTER GROUP

Commitment to British Manufacturing, in association with Chapel Down
Johnstons of Elgin, McLaren, Mulberry, Private White V.C., Savoir Beds

Export Excellence, in association with Reed & MacKay
Belmond, Ettinger, Jaguar Land Rover, Jimmy Choo, Walkers Shortbread

Digital, in association with Wearisma
Charlotte Tilbury, Farfetch, G.F. Smith, Victor, YOOX NET-A-PORTER GROUP

Innovation & Creativity, in association with My Love Affair
Aston Martin, Foster + Partners, Founders Forum, Gleneagles, Kingsman + MR PORTER

International Luxury Brand of the Year, in association with Times LUXX and Sunday Times Style
Cartier, Estée Lauder, Gucci, Louis Vuitton, Ralph Lauren

Leader in Luxury, in association with Thoughtworks
Carmen Busquets, Clare Waight Keller, Jean-Georges Vongerichten, Imran Amed, Richard Caring

The Brands of Tomorrow Award for Emerging Talent, in association with Mishcon de Reya, will have four winners and will be revealed on the night, as will the award for and Lifetime Achievement, in association Elite Associates.